Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Ford Australia Vehicles > Small and Mid Sized Cars > Focus

Old 15-09-2007, 12:24 AM   #1
wayne2208
Starter Motor

Default Two problems for my new Focus LT....

Hi guys,

I just got a brand new Ford Focus LT with safety pack Auto(blaclk) a couple of weeks ago. The prcie is $23500 drive away. I am not sure if the price is ok or too expensive because its my first time to buy a Ford vehicle.

I have driven it to work for 2 weeks. Its really a nice car except two problems which I am not sure is normal or not.

1. Everything is fine if the speed is under 90 km/hr. But when I drive in the freeway and the speed reach 100 km/hr, the steering wheel will tremble(vibrate) slightly. I am not sure if its normal for Ford Focus but it never happens in my another car Toyota Echo. Have you ever had this situation in
your Focus?

2. Everytime when I slow down the car from higher speed(60-70 km/hr) before the red traffic light, the car will shake (vibrate) once when the speed is below 10 km/hr ( when the car almost stop). The vibrated feeling is just like you change a gear, not very smooth. Again, it didn't happen when I drive another car Toyota Echo.

I am not sure these two issues are problems or normal, so just post here to see if you guys have the same problem before driving it back to Ford for inspection. :togo:

wayne2208 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2007, 12:48 AM   #2
wayne2208
Starter Motor

sorry..forget to tell you its CL model....
Old 15-09-2007, 01:23 AM   #3
sammc
Starter Motor

have the wheels been balanced?
sammc is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-09-2007, 01:36 AM   #4
wayne2208
Starter Motor

Its a brand new car and just 300 km now. Is it necessary to balance the wheel?
Old 15-09-2007, 07:31 AM   #5
melbzetec
Old enough to know better

Back to the dealer I'd say. Sounds like a balancing problem, and yes, brand new cars aren't always balanced correctly.